7 Year Old Birth Story

Here is my birth story which I wrote for Easy Parenting magazine, hopefully, if it cuts the muster it will appear in the next issue!

DSC00020I have three children with very different birth stories – epidurals, natural labour, inducement, marvelous midwives, casual consultants, giggling, screaming and crying. However I am going to start at the beginning, 7 years ago, when by eldest was born.

By the time she was conceived, myself and Paul had agreed not to get married but to start a family. Like all first-time parents, we kept being told to enjoy our freedom before baby was born and so we booked a weekend away for the start of February. Paul surprised me with a marriage proposal whilst there, and I accepted very tearfully (hormones you know!) In celebratory mode, we arranged an engagement party a couple of Fridays later. We went out with all our friends and had a great night, leaving the party around 10.30pm as I was feeling wiped.

The following morning I felt rotten, had mild tummy cramps and was generally feeling unwell. That was the weekend my (always procrastinating) fiance was painting the nursery with my future brother-in-law. ‘Christ’ I said to him, ‘this pain is unreal. How the hell am I going to cope with labour in a few weeks?’ I stayed in bed and let the lads get on with it, getting out of bed every hour or so as moving around helped with the ‘tummy cramps’.

That afternoon, my sister Tara came to visit and keep me company, but discretely was timing my cramps. ‘So you’re getting these pains every 25 minutes.. do you think you might be in labour?’ ‘Of course not’ says I, ‘sure I’m not due for another three weeks. Reckon I just overdid it last night.’

Tara (a homeoepath) headed home to get some remedies that might offer me some relief. Paul left to drop his brother home. And that is when I had a show! Crap. I called Holles St. and they said ‘sure come on in’. I called Paul and said ‘get home’, and called Tara to tell her she might be right. And then this wonderful calm descended. I hopped into the shower and made myself some toast whilst Tara and Paulie rushed around gathering up everything and telling ME to hurry up.

That was the day of the historical Ireland v England six nations game in Croke Park, so the roads were very quiet. We hightailed it into Holles St, timing my contractions. We were admitted quickly and upon examination (1 cm dilated ) brought straight to the delivery suite. The contractions were as bad as I expected but I didn’t know you had to wait for them to get really bad before your epidural was administered. Probably the worst part of the whole experience was trying to keep still during a contraction whilst the anaesthetist delivered the wonderful, calm-in-a-syringe that was my epidural. Staying still during a contraction is virtually impossible!!

It was plain sailing from there on in – I drifted in and out of sleep, chatted to Paulie, listened to the radio, whilst our wonderful midwife worked constantly and quietly in the background. Then she said ‘Ok it’s time!’ Paulie grabbed one leg, I grabbed the other and after only nine minutes of pushing, my beautiful, healthy, baby girl was born. She was put straight onto my chest for skin-to-skin, and I fell in love immediately, whilst delivering the placenta I watched Paul hold her with the most amazing look of wonder on his face.

All that was left to do was call work and tell them I wouldn’t be in!

My brand new baby girl! :)

My brand new baby girl! 🙂

 

Hope you enjoyed my story.

Feel free to leave any thoughts or comments below,

Thanks for reading

Aisling

 

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. merrybeau
    Jul 25, 2014 @ 13:41:38

    Congratulations Aisling. I see that you are on the Irish Blog Awards Nomination Long List for Parenting Blogs. Well done and good luck 🙂

    Reply

  2. merrybeau
    Jul 25, 2014 @ 13:58:08

    …AND Best Newcomer! Even better!

    Reply

  3. Sara
    Jul 25, 2014 @ 21:14:13

    Sounds so relaxing 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Baby Scratchings

Tales of an itchy baby

One Yummy Mummy

Award winning Irish Parenting and Family Food blog

Hey Ali

Family, Crafts, DIY, Decor

dairy free kids

shopping, cooking and living with dairy free kids

Glitter Mama Wishes

Irish Family & Lifesyle Blog

The Now Moment

Daily ambition is to get milk, have a clean house and an empty in-tray. Most days I get milk.

Musings and chatterings...

....of a busy mind

Simply Homemade

Food, Family & Lifestyle Blog

mammyinwonderland

How long is forever? Sometimes just one second

Office Mum

Just trying to keep my balance...

My Little Babog

Irish Parenting Blog

Dr. How's Science Wows

Science, Curiosity and Life

Learner Mama

Because Mother Nature didn't leave a manual

BabySteps

Observations, advice and tips on the early days and years of parenting

Green Elephant Crochet

Hand Dyed Yarn, Crochet and Things

Bumbles of Rice

Family, Food and Travel Blog

Minis and Mum

Special needs and parenting reads

The Airing Cupboard

A little place to vent

My thoughts on a page.

Living, Laughing, Loving, Loathing.

mamacourageblog

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

