They Are Gingerbread MEN!

Mister senorita to you!

Mister senorita to you!

All toys are for all children..’, ‘yes, boys can wear pink and dresses for that matter..”, not everyone gets married..’, ‘not everyone has babies..’, ‘Boys do cry..’ These are a few quotes from conversations with my children. I always try my best to dispel stereotypes. I have in fact very high hopes for the next generation when it comes to social inclusion and awareness. Why? Because as a member of the generation rearing them I, like many of my peers, live in a time when simply put, we know better. For example, I love this post from fellow ipber , Sinead Fox – Can’t we all like pink?

However, when it comes to the over-the-top politically correct madness that seems to be taking over the world, I kick back against the system with a vengeance. A recent trip to lovely Airfield  started me thinking about this. The children, delighted with their treat of lunch in the restaurant, decided on dessert – they both asked for the ‘gingerbread person’ written on the menu. I refused to let them have dessert unless they called it by its correct and inoffensive title of ‘gingerbread man’. (Seriously I am that cruel, they eventually capitulated and I won, everyone enjoyed a delicious piece of gingerbread.) I can only speak for myself here, but I have never ever in my nigh on 42 years on this planet taken offence at the fact that there were no gingerbread women. Ever.

Another restaurant-related example occurred a few weeks later. On our holidays, we went out for lunch and the children perused the ‘young adults’ menu which contained such delights as chicken nuggets, sausages and mini fish and chips, followed by a dessert of jelly and ice cream or cookies, all with a lovely colouring page to entertain them. Clearly the young adults menu was aimed at children!!! Why, oh why did they not call it that then? My children will earn the title young adult when they have a part-time job and are contributing to the household and not a day before!!

So why do politically correct titles bother me so much? Because giving something a different title does not necessarily deal with the problem. A ‘vertically challenged’ person is still short, a ‘person of size’ is still overweight and the ‘follicly challenged’ are still bald! Which is fine, but human nature is also still the same and some of these appropriately-titled people still remain targets for bullies.

Making Gingerbread Men!

Making Gingerbread Men!

So while I’m happy for them to munch on gingerbread men, I am determined to teach them what I view to be correct behaviour and attitudes towards others – that people come in all shapes and sizes. That anyone can do anything if they put their mind to it. That we are all equal. Not to judge others. Appreciate all they have – these days, children have a lot to be grateful for. Anti-social behaviour of any sort is unacceptable. Give people the benefit of the doubt. Be kind first and ask questions later. That peoples’ behaviour and NOT their appearance is what really matters. That cruel words hurt far more than broken bones.

I think that as a society we will progress much faster if, rather than shuffling awkardly behind the politically correct words for things, we teach our children how to behave in a positive and socially aware manner. All in the hope that some day in the near future everyone will indeed be equal, even us homemakers! 😉

Thanks for reading

Aisling

What do you think? Are there any politically correct terms that grind your gears? Please comment below with your thoughts!

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lisa
    Aug 29, 2014 @ 13:33:09

    Ah now, young adults menu? Way to make the rest of us feel aged! Also, I’ve seen Gingerbread women, they had very pretty shoes on, unless they’ve the pretty shoes they should be Gingerbread men!

    Reply

  2. Helen, The Busy Mama
    Aug 29, 2014 @ 22:44:49

    Love this Aisling! I completely agree with you on the PC madness. The one word that irks me though is ‘fat’ particularly as my 3yo daughter has taken to using it whenever she thinks clothes are too bulky. I’m just not happy with her declaring she’s ‘fat’ just because she doesn’t want a jumper on! I’ve no idea where she heard it but we’re working in its replacement any day now!

    Reply

    • BabySteps
      Aug 29, 2014 @ 23:11:48

      I know that Helen, my daughter said the other day that she didn’t want to be fat, before I had a chance to respond she said she didn’t want to be thin like a pencil either. Which is something I guess,as personally I would live to be thin as a pencil! I just did the old everyone comes in different shapes and sizes number on her. My advice ignore the fat word and just tell her she is herself ikym. But sure you are the guru so you probably just need to meditate for inspiration! 😉

      Reply

      • Helen, The Busy Mama
        Aug 29, 2014 @ 23:30:30

        Ah yes, sometimes I forget that I have all the answers!! Man (person!) alive! My kids are lucky to have a guru in the house!!

  3. tric
    Aug 30, 2014 @ 23:42:39

    Great post. I hate political correctness. I think it’s the Dub in me who says it as it is.

    Reply

    • BabySteps
      Aug 31, 2014 @ 09:32:58

      Thanks Tric, I think you are onto something there. Although I think it is us Irish in general that dislike it. You can’t beat a bit of Dub straight talking though!:-)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Baby Scratchings

Tales of an itchy baby

One Yummy Mummy

Award winning Irish Parenting and Family Food blog

Hey Ali

Family, Crafts, DIY, Decor

dairy free kids

shopping, cooking and living with dairy free kids

Glitter Mama Wishes

Irish Family & Lifesyle Blog

The Now Moment

Daily ambition is to get milk, have a clean house and an empty in-tray. Most days I get milk.

Musings and chatterings...

....of a busy mind

Simply Homemade

Food, Family & Lifestyle Blog

mammyinwonderland

How long is forever? Sometimes just one second

Office Mum

Just trying to keep my balance...

My Little Babog

Irish Parenting Blog

Dr. How's Science Wows

Science, Curiosity and Life

Learner Mama

Because Mother Nature didn't leave a manual

BabySteps

Observations, advice and tips on the early days and years of parenting

Green Elephant Crochet

Hand Dyed Yarn, Crochet and Things

Bumbles of Rice

Family, Food and Travel Blog

Minis and Mum

Special needs and parenting reads

The Airing Cupboard

A little place to vent

My thoughts on a page.

Living, Laughing, Loving, Loathing.

mamacourageblog

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

