Samhain the Sweetfest?

Like a lot of my peers, I have had to ‘learn’ our new modern Hallowe’en. Of course we celebrated Hallowe’en growing up but we were not allowed to trick-or-treat.. ever! My mum referred to it as begging and just didn’t entertain the idea of it. So, of course, as myself and my siblings were brought in and bade farewell to our dressed up buddies, I swore on everything pagan that MY children would be allowed go trick-or-treating. A promise I (kinda regretfully) kept.

Halloween

No, Mum didn’t let us go around the houses dressed up but boy did we celebrate Hallowe’en. The house was filled with every variety of nut, even coconuts, which I have since found are near impossible to crack. We would make ourselves sick eating barm brack to get the pennies and ring (although my eldest sister always, always, always got it, always..) All this before the games – we played snap-apple and also got soaking wet bobbing for apples and coins, all in the safety of our own home. We had sparklers and we would go down to the bonfire, en famille, filled with the wonder of being out and about after dark. I loved Hallowe’en and there wasn’t a sweet wrapper in sight!

So, yes my front porch is filled with ghoulish decorations and the children are high as kites awaiting Friday. My eldest has always dressed up as something scary, as much as she loved dressing up as fairies and princesses when she was younger – actually still does every now and then – she has always chosen a scary costume for Hallowe’en (faceless grim reaper this year); and so the other two have followed suit. I am getting to be a dab hand at face painting skulls and demon heads, believe me.

No princesses here!

No princesses here!

Our pumpkin is bought but not yet carved. I learnt that lesson when I celebrated Halloween the year I opened my creche and carving pumkins was one of our early October arts and crafts projects. As any experienced pumpkin-carver could have told me, we ended up with a creche filled with foul- smelling, slowly-collapsing pumpkins by the time the big day arrived. So tommorrow is time enough to get carving.

Then there are the treats! I started by doing healthy baked goodies and making zombie hands (fill a clear glove with a malteaser at each fingertip, and popped corn for the rest, and tie with a rag) to give out at the door, but three children later I just don’t have that kind of time on my hands. So a big bucket of sweets, nuts and fruit will be ready at the door on Friday. This is where I begin to regret my vow of letting the children trick-or-treat – they love going around after dark, enjoy all the spooky decorations and really get a kick out of it, but the ridiculous amount of goodies they arrive home with boggles my mind, and they only do one cul-de-sac!!

 

As I have mentioned before, I am not averse to my children having a sweet treat but I do not embrace the gorge-fest that Hallowee’en can be either! My children are not allowed to pour the sweeets out on the floor and just go for it. I really believe that as parents we need to take control of the Hallowe’en treats. I know that my meting out of treats seems practically Dickensian to some but I truly believe in the importance of keeping treats as treats! When we get home, the children are allowed a good rummage around their bags and get to choose two treats each to enjoy while watching a scary cartoon. Then I take the bags and put them out of sight.

I want my children to enjoy Hallowe’en and so I distract them from their haul by searching for the ring in the brack (eldest daughter always gets it..seriously, why IS that?) , bobbing for apples and taking turns to tell ghost stories. I haven’t managed to locate a local bonfire yet, but when I do that will be added to our ‘to do’ list. During the rest of the mid-term they are allowed to have a treat a day from their bags and then, when they go back to school, they are allowed to have one treat a week from their bags. Usually by the end of the first week of school they have forgotten about their bags and I for one actively encourage that.

Happy Halloween!

Happy Halloween!

So if you are dreading your house being filled with goodies, then why not try putting the goodies out of sight and starting a few non sweet-based family traditions. There are some great old and new ideas here. Turns out my Mum just might have known what she was doing after all!

Thanks for reading

Aisling

I love feedback! Please leave any thoughts or comments below.

Leave a Reply

Baby Scratchings

Tales of an itchy baby

One Yummy Mummy

Award winning Irish Parenting and Family Food blog

Hey Ali

Family, Crafts, DIY, Decor

dairy free kids

shopping, cooking and living with dairy free kids

Glitter Mama Wishes

Irish Family & Lifesyle Blog

The Now Moment

Daily ambition is to get milk, have a clean house and an empty in-tray. Most days I get milk.

Musings and chatterings...

....of a busy mind

Simply Homemade

Food, Family & Lifestyle Blog

mammyinwonderland

How long is forever? Sometimes just one second

Office Mum

Just trying to keep my balance...

My Little Babog

Irish Parenting Blog

Dr. How's Science Wows

Science, Curiosity and Life

Learner Mama

Because Mother Nature didn't leave a manual

BabySteps

Observations, advice and tips on the early days and years of parenting

Green Elephant Crochet

Hand Dyed Yarn, Crochet and Things

Bumbles of Rice

Family, Food and Travel Blog

Minis and Mum

Special needs and parenting reads

The Airing Cupboard

A little place to vent

My thoughts on a page.

Living, Laughing, Loving, Loathing.

mamacourageblog

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

