The Communion Carry On!

‘Are you sorted? What are your plans? Have you sorted Caoimhe?’What are you going to wear? We are heading for dinner tonight to check out the restaurant before we book. Where have you booked? Are you getting your make-up done as well as your hair?’ And so on and so forth ad nauseum. I have been trying to avoid these conversations and more because, well, my daughter is not in fact getting married – she is eight years old and is making her First Holy Communion.

Courtesy of Pixabay

 

And still they come. But what are you doing for ‘the communion’? I am made of pretty tough stuff, but finally I started to crack. What am I doing for ‘the communion’?? I have done nothing for ‘the communion’. Panic, panic, worry, worry. Then I copped on. It is two months away. I am doing one thing at a time, and there is plenty of time left.

Will she be going to the hairdressers? Nope.

Will she have fake tan? No freaking way.

Will we be booking an expensive restaurant we can ill afford? Eh, no.

Will she have a bouncy castle / a sweet shop/ a children’s entertainer? No, no, no!

I know people who have been planning the day since Christmas, if not earlier. Or who are worrying about the eye watering amount of money they are spending on the dress and accessories. Or are getting distressed about how to host the communion.  It, apparently, has to be perfect.

Not a wedding! (pixabay)

So I admit I have a to-do list, of sorts, unrefined, as ‘the communion’ is nearly two months away.

What to wear? We have a dress, kindly donated by our neighbour. So yes, she will be all in white from veil (undecided) to white shoes (with heels? maybe!) I will, most likely, wear a dress I got for a recent wedding – it will do grand. I’ll also endeavour to get the others into something smart, probably their Easter clothes.

Where will we eat? Hopefully, out in the back garden!

What will we eat? I don’t know yet, something easy to prepare that will feed the masses I guess!

Who is coming? Family.

Will there be cake? Obviously!

Have I ordered cake? Nope, I have an oven so that’s sorted! 😉

Will we break the bank? No.

Will it be a special day? All dressed up, surrounded by family, love and laughter. Oh yes, I believe it will be a very special day indeed!

I might even bake a cake! :)

I might even bake a cake! 🙂

So, the Communion, hmm? Are you sorted?

Thanks for reading

Aisling

I wrote this piece for MummyPages, why not check them out?

15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Anonymous
    Mar 27, 2015 @ 19:12:54

    Oh..this made me giggle!
    Ad nauseum totally Aisling! Carry on as you do and no doubt your Caoimhe will have a wonderful day without fuss..just love and laughter..what more could a child want. No need to worry if shoes match dress..the amount of similar conversations I have had or been speechless by with all the fuss and near melt-downs of getting the so called perfect outfit.
    It’s a celebration for a child, priority for us, to be surrounded by loved ones, to make sure she is enjoying her day, NOT to fuss & hopefully eat lots of delicious food. I think you can tell everyone you ARE ‘sorted’ 🙂

    Reply

  2. Anonymous
    Mar 27, 2015 @ 19:16:52

    Anonymous was me..xyasmina

    Reply

  3. Trackback: Irish Parenting Bloggers | The Communion Carry On!
  4. Danielle (@Lilliwhiterose)
    Mar 27, 2015 @ 20:00:03

    I think you are really well organised by the sounds of it! You have it well planned with the most important part being surrounded by family, love and laughter. I think Caoimhe will have a very special day x

    Reply

  5. Anonymous
    Mar 27, 2015 @ 22:37:08

    Brillant really enjoyed this post . I had my little boy for communion last yr & have my little girl this yr the fuss & expense some people go to is unreal.

    Reply

    • BabySteps
      Mar 28, 2015 @ 09:13:10

      I know, I wrote this hoping that maybe some people will pause and realise they don’t need to get so worked up! Thanks for reading and taking the time to comment. ☺

      Reply

  6. Kate Porter
    Mar 28, 2015 @ 07:00:43

    The religious element aside, unfortunately many children’s experiences (and others too !) have turned into an opportunity for parents to ‘show off’ or “keep up with the Jones’ as if money or expense prove something more than the simple pleasures of life. I think this comes from a fundamental sense of personal insecurity and guilt about overworking/constant business trips. It’s almost as if people justify lack of time with their children by throwing money at the problem. You’ll all have a wonderful day Ais because you have your priorities right. As for the rest, I don’t remember a bouncy castle at the Last Supper 🙂 Kate

    Reply

    • BabySteps
      Mar 28, 2015 @ 09:11:18

      A mutual friend of ours was told what shop a fellow parent had bought their daughter’s dress in, so that she wouldn’t buy the same dress! Nonsense. Thanks for taking the time to comment Kate. X

      Reply

  7. My Little Babog Blog
    Mar 28, 2015 @ 15:35:38

    And the day will be perfect!! You don’t need to spend hundreds once family and friends are there it will be a very special day!

    Reply

  8. Andrea
    Mar 31, 2015 @ 16:31:33

    I love that piece on your daughters First Holy Communion Day. It mirrors most of what we are doing. We have twin daughters this year for first holy communion. We are stretching to an inflatable obstacle course but that’s mainly because they are winter babies and have never had the opportunity to have one for a party. Once the girls enjoy themselves that’s all I care about. Well done on your article.

    Reply

    • BabySteps
      Apr 01, 2015 @ 08:37:15

      Thanks Andrea, sounds like a great day planned for your girls. Have never heard of an inflatable obstacle course but reckon it is something the adults will enjoy too!! 😀Thanks for reading and pausing to comment.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Baby Scratchings

Tales of an itchy baby

One Yummy Mummy

Award winning Irish Parenting and Family Food blog

Hey Ali

Family, Crafts, DIY, Decor

dairy free kids

shopping, cooking and living with dairy free kids

Glitter Mama Wishes

Irish Family & Lifesyle Blog

The Now Moment

Daily ambition is to get milk, have a clean house and an empty in-tray. Most days I get milk.

Musings and chatterings...

....of a busy mind

Simply Homemade

Food, Family & Lifestyle Blog

mammyinwonderland

How long is forever? Sometimes just one second

Office Mum

Just trying to keep my balance...

My Little Babog

Irish Parenting Blog

Dr. How's Science Wows

Science, Curiosity and Life

Learner Mama

Because Mother Nature didn't leave a manual

BabySteps

Observations, advice and tips on the early days and years of parenting

Green Elephant Crochet

Hand Dyed Yarn, Crochet and Things

Bumbles of Rice

Family, Food and Travel Blog

Minis and Mum

Special needs and parenting reads

The Airing Cupboard

A little place to vent

My thoughts on a page.

Living, Laughing, Loving, Loathing.

mamacourageblog

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

