Sugar ‘n’ Spice V Slugs ‘n’ Snails

I don’t think that boys and girls should be stereotyped or colour coded. I have never really subscribed to ‘girls toys’ and ‘boys toys’. Children should be given toys and left to decide for themselves if the toys are fun, or otherwise. It is no great shocker to anyone that Lego is the most popular children’s toy of all time, and rightly so.

The same but different

The same but different!

That said, boys and girls are different. It is, as ‘Little Mix’ so eloquently put it, in our DNA (groovy pop culture reference there I hope!). Never has this been clearer to me than then when I organised two group play-dates. Actually, I organised one group play-date for my daughter and that went so well that I organised a group play-date for my son the following week.

I have written before about play-dates and how I had to learn to embrace them. They genuinely don’t faze me these days and group ones are great as long as you ensure no one is left out.

So first we got the girls together, three 8-year-old girls to be precise and this is how the afternoon played out – I picked them up from school. We went to the sweet shop and they picked something nice for themselves. They giggled and chatted and shared the sweets  between themselves while discussing their afternoon plans. They then tucked the rest of their sweets away for later.

Giggles and chats (pic courtesy of pixabay)

Giggles and chats
(photo courtesy of Pixabay)

The first thing we did when we got in was to have hot chocolate and marshmallows around the table. The girls talked about school, shared their marshmallows fairly and made sure everyone was finished before they left the table. They then went upstairs, put on a Taylor Swift album and danced and gossiped amongst themselves. Then they came down, went into the back garden and played on the trampoline while rehearsing a dance routine.

Dance routines . (pic courtesy of Pixabay)

Dance routines .
(Photo courtesy of Pixabay)

I offered them a snack (because snacks are key on play dates). “No thank you” they said, “we are heading out the front” and off they went, to chat, dance and listen to more music (one of the girls had brought their iPod). They came back in at dinner time, giggling and chatting, ate their dinner and then it was time to go home.

Wow, says I, that was the easiest play date ever – I was hardly called on at all, this is the way to go etc. I promptly arranged a group play-date for my son for following week, for three 6-year-old boys.

So this is how the afternoon played out. We went to the sweet shop. They each picked their sweets, gobbled them before exiting the shop while asking me what was for their snack when we got home. I bundled them into the car and headed home.

What's for snack?

What’s for snack? (photo courtesy of Pixabay)

They all had a good swing out of the tree before asking what was to eat, had hot chocolate and marshmallows whilst standing, didn’t finish it, rushed out to play football (for five minutes), came back in to check on a snack status. I hunted them off to the trampoline where they kick-boxed each other in great guffaws of laughter. Not fancying a run to A&E, I encouraged them off the trampoline with some breadsticks and hummous biscuits.

Dangerous so must be fun!

Dangerous so must be fun! (photo courtesy of Pixabay)

After eating the full packet they created a great game of dragging each other around the deck on a skateboard which descended into dragging each other around the deck and trying to push each other off the skateboard. All pain was welcomed with uproarious laughter. By now they were bruised, battered and manky.

What can we eat?

What can we eat? (photo courtesy of Pixabay)

They came in for a snack so I dug out some crisps. They finished crisps and were sent upstairs to change into dry clothes which they did whilst delightedly flashing each other. I got them to play a game of Kimble (aka Ludo) which lasted all of four minutes before they dive-bombed each other on the couch, with the more physical damage done the better.

Back outside they went and played dodgeball on the trampoline, with a massive lack of emphasis on dodging. I quickly made dinner and they all sat, stood and scoffed with no heed to cutlery, and laughing at every burp and fart they could force. Eventually it was time for them to go home.

The conclusion is as follows – boys and girls are very, very different creatures!

20150216_155105 20150403_163615

I am mixing it up today with a two girls / two boys play-date. Gulp.

I will let you know what happens…

Thanks for reading

Aisling

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Irish Parenting Bloggers | Sugar ‘n’ Spice V Slugs ‘n’ Snails
  2. Sara
    Apr 24, 2015 @ 18:02:15

    My just turned 7 yr old and soon to be 5 yr old girls are exactly like your 6 year old boys play date lol I think it’s age more than gender haha

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Baby Scratchings

Tales of an itchy baby

One Yummy Mummy

Award winning Irish Parenting and Family Food blog

Hey Ali

Family, Crafts, DIY, Decor

dairy free kids

shopping, cooking and living with dairy free kids

Glitter Mama Wishes

Irish Family & Lifesyle Blog

The Now Moment

Daily ambition is to get milk, have a clean house and an empty in-tray. Most days I get milk.

Musings and chatterings...

....of a busy mind

Simply Homemade

Food, Family & Lifestyle Blog

mammyinwonderland

How long is forever? Sometimes just one second

Office Mum

Just trying to keep my balance...

My Little Babog

Irish Parenting Blog

Dr. How's Science Wows

Science, Curiosity and Life

Learner Mama

Because Mother Nature didn't leave a manual

BabySteps

Observations, advice and tips on the early days and years of parenting

Green Elephant Crochet

Hand Dyed Yarn, Crochet and Things

Bumbles of Rice

Family, Food and Travel Blog

Minis and Mum

Special needs and parenting reads

The Airing Cupboard

A little place to vent

My thoughts on a page.

Living, Laughing, Loving, Loathing.

mamacourageblog

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

