Healthy Fast Food – A Review

I am forever looking for inspiration for new recipes, foodstuffs and flavours for the children that are tasty and healthy. Then, when I find one, I spend a small fortune getting all the necessary extra ingredients for said recipe (who has tamari in their store cupboard??) Once the exotic ingredients are secured and after I’ve slaved over the new dish, more often than not I have it returned to me. This is after they’ve choked down a few obligatory mouthfuls (they have to at least try the new dish), typically followed by requests for ‘pasta pesto’ or ‘pesto pasta’ or some other variant.

What? Something 'NEW' for dinner?

What? Something ‘NEW’ for dinner?

So although I was delighted when I was sent a few samples from Quinola Mothergrain of their quinoa-based kids’ meals, I was pretty sure that the children would instantly reject something that was not the norm. But guess what? The older two loved them and asked for more. They tried all three flavours and liked them all. I even offered one to my husband the other day, which he grudgingly agreed was quite nice.

They couldn’t be easier to use. You literally zap them in the microwave for 30 seconds and bam, healthy meal, ready to eat. Don’t have 30 seconds? No problem, they can be eaten cold too although we’ve only eaten them heated so far.

Fast, tasty, healthy!

Fast, tasty, healthy!

I’m definitely going to stock up on a few packets as they make a healthy change from the baked beans and instant noodles that I usually have on standby. In addition, I’ll get to lord it over other mothers when my children ask if they can have quinoa for dinner! Except for my youngest who still requests pasta pesto EVERY meal time.

Disclaimer: I was sent some samples for the purpose of this review but all thoughts and words are my own.

Leave a Reply

Baby Scratchings

Tales of an itchy baby

One Yummy Mummy

Award winning Irish Parenting and Family Food blog

Hey Ali

Family, Crafts, DIY, Decor

dairy free kids

shopping, cooking and living with dairy free kids

Glitter Mama Wishes

Irish Family & Lifesyle Blog

The Now Moment

Daily ambition is to get milk, have a clean house and an empty in-tray. Most days I get milk.

Musings and chatterings...

....of a busy mind

Simply Homemade

Food, Family & Lifestyle Blog

mammyinwonderland

How long is forever? Sometimes just one second

Office Mum

Just trying to keep my balance...

My Little Babog

Irish Parenting Blog

Dr. How's Science Wows

Science, Curiosity and Life

Learner Mama

Because Mother Nature didn't leave a manual

BabySteps

Observations, advice and tips on the early days and years of parenting

Green Elephant Crochet

Hand Dyed Yarn, Crochet and Things

Bumbles of Rice

Family, Food and Travel Blog

Minis and Mum

Musings of a frazzled mama

The Airing Cupboard

A little place to vent

My thoughts on a page.

Living, Laughing, Loving, Loathing.

mamacourageblog

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

